Pub Blasted By ‘Disgusted’ Customer Over Price Of Yorkshire Puddings

A pub has been blasted by a 'disgusted' customer over the price of its Yorkshire puddings. 
Credit: Tripadvisor & Unsplash
Submit your video, earn $250.

A pub has been blasted by a ‘disgusted’ customer over the price of its Yorkshire puddings. 

The diner, who goes by the name Steve, took to TripAdvisor and said it’s wrong of The Kicking Donkey, based in Ormskirk, not to include the savoury treat in its Sunday roast.

In his one-star review, the customer reportedly penned: “Went there for a Sunday roast. In all my life I have never been to a restaurant for a roast beef dinner and told it does not include a Yorkshire pudding.

Find out why this woman ‘grills’ her Yorkshire puddings in the clip below…

“It costs an extra £1.50 and if you want gravy with that, it also costs an extra £1.50. Totally disgusted. We will never be going back there. First visit. Never again.”

The establishment’s owner took the time to share a lengthy response and address the complaint.

They wrote: “Hi Steve. Sorry to have upset you so much.

“The reason we charge for Yorkies and extra gravy is that they’re both home-made from scratch. This takes time and effort, we don’t have the manpower to make a Yorkie for every meal, so we make a batch and when they’re gone, they’re gone.”

They then added: “We charge for extra gravy because we put plenty on anyway.”

But Steve wasn’t the only person who complained about the country pub’s Sunday roast and having to pay extra for Yorkshire puddings.

A diner called Larry said: “Roast dinner was bland, hardly any taste. You want a Yorkshire pudding or more gravy, fine, but you need to pay extra.

“Dogs allowed in eating areas, not a great idea – so not for me. Tried it, but no more.”

Mum Defends Feeding Eight-Month-Old Toddler ‘Huge’ Sunday Roasts

The Kicking Donkey’s owner once again defended the pub, writing: “Hi. Thanks for the feedback, very sorry to hear that your experience with us wasn’t all it could be.

“We would have been more than happy to swap your meal for something else or knock something off your bill if we’d been aware that it wasn’t to your satisfaction.”

“As to dogs, well, I’m afraid it’s a country pub, kind of goes with the turf.

“We would have been happy to move you to another table if we had known you were uncomfortable with their presence.

“Once again, sorry that you didn’t enjoy your meal. Should you ever try us again, ask for me and I’ll make sure that everything is as splendid as we can manage.”

Watch our Video of the Day below…

Do you have a story for us? If so, email us at [email protected]. All contact will be treated in confidence.